W and C Course Advisory Committee

Committee Profile

Owners

  • Balester, Valerie
  • Pantel, Donna
Purpose:
Make recommendations to the Faculty Senate about what courses should be designated as writing-intensive (W) or oral communications intensive (C) and advise the University Writing Center Executive Director on policies that affect W and C courses and the writing center
Membership Selection Process:
Two undergraduate student members who are appointed during the fall semester and serve for one year. Faculty are appointed on a rotating basis by the AOC Deans of each college with undergraduate majors and by the Dean of Libraries. Faculty members serve for three years.
Meeting Times:
Meetings are as needed, approximately once a month in Evans Library (Room 214, The University Writing Center) on Mondays from 3:30-5). Materials that will be discussed for each meeting are sent to members about a week in advance. They can also be viewed from our Web site. More information is available from http://writingcenter.tamu.edu. Meetings in summer are often held online.
Additional Information:
Meeting dates for 2018-19 are as follows (subject to change as needed):
September 3
October 8
November 5
December 3

February 4
March 4
April 1
May 6
June 3
July 8
August 5

Roster

Position Name Contact
Chair Valerie Balester
Academic Success Center
v-balester@tamu.edu
458-1420
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Representative
Expires in 2020
Holli Leggette
Agriculture Education
hollileggette@tamu.edu
8-3039
College of Architecture Representative
Expires in 2019
George Eustace
Architecture
geustace@arch.tamu.edu
8-0156
College of Business Representative
Expires in 2021
Jeana Guillory
Business Undergraduate Special Programs
jguillory@tamu.edu
5-1022
College of Education Representative
Expires in 2019
Sharon Matthews
Teaching, Learning and Culture (Tlac)
sharon.matthews@tamu.edu
5-8384
College of Engineering Represenative
Expires in 2021
Timothy Jacobs
Education Program/Easa
tjjacobs@tamu.edu
2-4355
College of Geosciences Representative
Expires in 2019
Julie Newman
Geology and Geophysics
newman@geo.tamu.edu
5-9283
College of Liberal Arts Representative
Expires in 2019
Brett Cooke
Modern & Classical Languages
lbc3432@unix.tamu.edu
845-4762
College of Science Representative
Expires in 2021
Matthew Sachs
Biology
msachs@bio.tamu.edu
845-8530
College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences Representative
Expires in 2019
Barbara Gastel
Veterinary Integrative Biosciences
b-gastel@tamu.edu
845-6887
Library Representative
Expires in 2019
Susan Goodwin
Libraries
sgoodwin@tamu.edu
19794580138
School of Public Health
Expires in 2020
Dr. Andrew Klein
Geology and Geophysics
klein@geos.tamu.edu
845-5219
TAMU Galveston Representative
Expires in 2020
Victor Viser
TAMU Galveston
viserv@tamug.edu
(409) 740-4556
TAMU Qatar Representative
Expires in 2020
Amy Hodges
TAMU - Qatar Campus
amy.hodges@qatar.tamu.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2019
Jacob Powell
Student Government Association
academicaffairs.tamusenate@gmail.com
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2019
Michael Migaud
Student Government Association
aa.tamuexecutive@gmail.com