Committee Profile

Owners

  • Balester, Valerie
  • Pantel, Donna
Purpose:
Make recommendations to the Faculty Senate about what courses should be designated as writing-intensive (W) or oral communications intensive (C) and advise the University Writing Center Executive Director on policies that affect W and C courses and the writing center
Membership Selection Process:
Two undergraduate student members who are appointed during the fall semester and serve for one year. Faculty are appointed on a rotating basis by the AOC Deans of each college with undergraduate majors and by the Dean of Libraries. Faculty members serve for three years.
Meeting Times:
Meetings are as needed, approximately once a month in Evans Library (Room 214, The University Writing Center) on Mondays from 3:30-5 pm. Materials that will be discussed for each meeting are sent to members about a week in advance. Some meetings may be held via email, More information is available from http://writingcenter.tamu.edu. Meetings in summer are often held online.
Additional Information:
Meeting dates for 2021-2022 academic year are as follows (subject to change as needed):

September 6 (Zoom)
October 4
November 1
December 6
January 24
February 7
March 7
April 4
May 6
June 6 (email)
July 11 (email)
August 1 (email)

Roster

Position Name Contact
Chair Valerie Balester
Academic Success Center
v-balester@tamu.edu
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Representative
Expires in 2023
Holli Leggette
Agricultural Education
hollileggette@tamu.edu
458-3039
College of Architecture Representative
Expires in 2022
Shelley Smith
Construction Science
shelleysmith@tamu.edu
845-1017
College of Business Representative
Expires in 2022
Jeana Guillory
Mays Business School
jguillory@tamu.edu
845-1022
College of Education Representative
Expires in 2023
Sharon Matthews
Teaching, Learning, & Culture
sharon.matthews@tamu.edu
845-8384
College of Engineering Represenative
Expires in 2024
Bruce Tai
Mechanical Engineering
btai@tamu.edu
(979) 458-9888
College of Geosciences Representative
Expires in 2022
Gunnar Schade
Geology
gws@tamu.edu
845-0633
College of Liberal Arts Representative
Expires in 2023
Kimberly Kattari
Performance Studies
kkattari@tamu.edu
845-3355
College of Science Representative Matthew Sachs
Biology
msachs@bio.tamu.edu
845-8530
College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences Representative
Expires in 2023
Barbara Gastel
Veterinary Integrative Biosciences
b-gastel@tamu.edu
845-6887
Library Representative
Expires in 2022
Susie Goodwin
Libraries
sgoodwin@tamu.edu
458-0114
School of Public Health
Expires in 2022
Angela Clendenin
Public Health Studies
clendenin@tamu.edu
436-9499
TAMU Galveston Representative
Expires in 2023
Brett Furth
Liberal Studies
furthb@tamug.edu
845-5242
TAMU Qatar Representative
Expires in 2023
Aymen Eltayeb Elsheikh
Liberal Studies
aymen.elsheikh@qatar.tamu.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2021
Wendy Jiang
Student (SGA Appointed)
wendy0615@tamu.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2021
Lauren Bonicoro
Undergraduate Student
lbonicoro.1@tamu.edu