Committee Profile


  • Balester, Valerie
  • Pantel, Donna
Make recommendations to the Faculty Senate about what courses should be designated as writing-intensive (W) or oral communications intensive (C) and advise the University Writing Center Executive Director on policies that affect W and C courses and the writing center
Membership Selection Process:
Two undergraduate student members who are appointed during the fall semester and serve for one year. Faculty are appointed on a rotating basis by the AOC Deans of each college with undergraduate majors and by the Dean of Libraries. Faculty members serve for three years.
Meeting Times:
Meetings are as needed, approximately once a month in Evans Library (Room 214, The University Writing Center) on Mondays from 3:30-5 pm. Materials that will be discussed for each meeting are sent to members about a week in advance. Some meetings may be held via email, More information is available from Meetings in summer are often held online.
Additional Information:
Meeting dates for 2021-2022 academic year are as follows (subject to change as needed):

September 6 (Zoom)
October 4
November 1
December 6
January 24
February 7
March 7
April 4
May 6
June 6 (email)
July 11 (email)
August 1 (email)


Position Name Contact
Chair Valerie Balester
Academic Success Center
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Representative
Expires in 2023
Holli Leggette
Agricultural Education
College of Architecture Representative
Expires in 2022
Shelley Smith
Construction Science
College of Business Representative
Expires in 2022
Jeana Guillory
Mays Business School
College of Education Representative
Expires in 2023
Sharon Matthews
Teaching, Learning, & Culture
College of Engineering Represenative
Expires in 2024
Bruce Tai
Mechanical Engineering
(979) 458-9888
College of Geosciences Representative
Expires in 2022
Gunnar Schade
College of Liberal Arts Representative
Expires in 2023
Kimberly Kattari
Performance Studies
College of Science Representative Matthew Sachs
College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences Representative
Expires in 2023
Barbara Gastel
Veterinary Integrative Biosciences
Library Representative
Expires in 2022
Susie Goodwin
School of Public Health
Expires in 2022
Angela Clendenin
Public Health Studies
TAMU Galveston Representative
Expires in 2023
Brett Furth
Liberal Studies
TAMU Qatar Representative
Expires in 2023
Aymen Eltayeb Elsheikh
Liberal Studies
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2021
Wendy Jiang
Student (SGA Appointed)
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2021
Lauren Bonicoro
Undergraduate Student