Howdy Week Committee

Committee Profile

Purpose:
Howdy Week: Aggieland's Week of Welcome is an orientation and retention program designed to welcome all new Texas A&M undergraduates. Continuing the orientation process begun at the New Student Conferences, Howdy Week programs provide students an opportunity to learn more about the campus, each other, and college life in general through a series of educational and social events sponsored by university departments, colleges, student organizations, residence halls, and community members. Howdy Week, full of events and opportunities for new and returning students to become familiar with or get reacquainted with the campus, their fellow Aggies, and the community, happens just before Fall Semester at Texas A&M University. By connecting new students with the University, the student's commitment to the institution is solidified, and connecting new students with the University enhances their success.
Membership Selection Process:
Members are invited from across the university community typically from areas that work with freshman and transfer students, but also from those departments or areas that have more university-wide missions/purpose
Meeting Times:
We meet at least once in the summer and then on an as-needed basis.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Residence Life Representative
Expires in 2018
Carlos Pinkerton
Residence Hall Association
carlos_pinkerton@housing.tamu.edu
Student Activities Representative
Expires in 2018
Kalyn Cavazos
Student Activities
kcavazos@stuact.tamu.edu
Association of Former Students Representative Allie Longoria
Association of Former Students
alongoria09@aggienetwork.com
979-845-7514
International Student Services Representative
Expires in 2018
Alyssa Morgan
International Student Services
ammorgan@tamu.edu
Corps of Cadets Representative (Staff)
Expires in 2019
Kevin Brummett
Office of the Commandant
kbrummett@tamu.edu
719-761-3007
Recreational Sports Representative
Expires in 2018
Cassie Honey
Recreational Sports
CHoney@rec.tamu.edu
862-2990
Multicultural Services Representative
Expires in 2019
Diana Lee
Multicultural Services

979-862-2000
MSC Representative (Staff)
Expires in 2018
Mary Compton
Memorial Student Center
MCompton@msc.tamu.edu
845-1515
Chair
Expires in 2018
Megan Higginbotham
Offices of the Dean of Student Life
meganh@studentlife.tamu.edu
845-5826
Student Life Representative
Expires in 2018
Heather Wheeler
Offices of the Dean of Student Life
heatherw@studentlife.tamu.edu
9798453111
Veteran Resource and Support Center
Expires in 2018
Jerry Smith
Veteran Resource and Support Center
gsmith@tamu.edu
Athletic Department Representative
Expires in 2018
Eric Trimborn
Athletics
etrimborn@athletics.tamu.edu
Aggie Orientation Leader Program Representative (Student)
Expires in 2017
Chris Todd
*Select Department
chrisatodd517@tamu.edu
Aggie Orientation Leader Program Representative (Student)
Expires in 2017
Amanda Coronado
Offices of the Dean of Student Life
amco1995@tamu.edu