Student Media Board

Committee Profile

Purpose:
The charge of the board is to assure the highest quality of student media for the Texas A&M University community. To obtain this goal, the committee oversees the development and implementation of policies and procedures that guide student editors; training relating to news, advertising, production, distribution, fiscal, and personnel matters; and the long-range planning across all areas of Student Media. The committee also provides a venue for hearing complaints and concerns about the student media and for making suggestions and recommendations to the Editors in chief along with promoting the understanding of student media.
Membership Selection Process:
The board is composed of 11 voting members and three non-voting members. Membership includes four staff members, two faculty members, two students, one graduate student, and three ex officio members. The chair of the committee is the Director of Student Life.
Meeting Times:
Meetings are held at once a month fall and spring semesters, or more often as deemed necessary.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Faculty Member Randall Sumpter
Journalism
r-sumpter@tamu.edu
Faculty Member Bill Pride
Marketing
w-pride@tamu.edu
Faculty Member Deborah Dunsford
Agricultural Education
ddunsford@tamu.edu
Staff Member
Expires in 2008
Tiffany Inbody t-inbody@tamu.edu
Professional Journalist Michael Landauer MLandauer@dallasnews.com
Professional Journalist Douglas Pils dougpils@aol.com
Student Life - Student Media Representative
Expires in 2018
Doug Pils
Offices of the Dean of Student Life
dpils@studentlife.tamu.edu
845-3315
Chair
Expires in 2018
Anne Reber
Offices of the Dean of Student Life
a-reber@tamu.edu
845-3111
Aggieland Yearbook Representative (Student)
Expires in 2018
Anthony Pangonas
Offices of the Dean of Student Life
apangonas@gmail.com
Battalion (Student)
Expires in 2018
Josh McCormick
Offices of the Dean of Student Life
editor@thebatt.com
Graduate Student Representative (special appointment) (Student)
Expires in 2018
Chris Nygren
Graduate Student Council
christian.nygren@tamu.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative (special appointment) (Student) (Vacant)
Student Life Representative
Expires in 2018
Stefanie Baker
Offices of the Dean of Student Life
stefanieb@studentlife.tamu.edu
862-4129