Athletic Council

Committee Profile

Purpose:
Advisory to the President on all matters relating to Intercollegiate athletics. Primary responsibility is the academic program within the athletic department.
Membership Selection Process:
Members are appointed by the President. The Council consists of the Chair and five additional faculty members appointed on staggered three-year terms for no more than six years. The Council also consists of two student members and six ex-officio voting members.
Meeting Times:
Meetings are called at the discretion of the chair, usually once a month.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Chair
Expires in 2018
John Singer
Health and Kinesiology
singerjn@hlkn.tamu.edu
979-845-5497
Faculty Representative
Expires in 2019
Steven Oberhelman
College of Liberal Arts - Admin - Dean
s-oberhelman@tamu.edu
979-845-8509
Faculty Representative
Expires in 2020
Cecilia Giusti
Landscape Architecture & Urban Planning
cgiusti@arch.tamu.edu
979-458-4304
Faculty Representative
Expires in 2020
Adrienne Carter-Sowell
Psychology
acsowell@tamu.edu
979-845-0378
Ex Officio Paul Batista
Health and Kinesiology
pbatisa@tamu.edu
979-847-2391
Ex Officio Dr. Daniel J. Pugh, Sr.
Vice President for Student Affairs
djpughsr@vpsa.tamu.edu
979-845-4728
Ex Officio Scott Kelly
Office of General Counsel
s-kelly@tamus.edu
979-458-6124
Athletic Department Representative David Batson
Athletic Compliance
d-batson@athletics.tamu.edu
979-845-1904
Athletic Department Representative Scott Woodward
Athletics
swoodward@athletics.tamu.edu
979-845-5129
Athletic Department Representative Jeff Guin
Athletics
jguin@athletics.tamu.edu
979.862-6021
Graduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2018
Chris Nygren
Graduate Student Council
christian.nygren@tamu.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2018
Amy Miller
Student Government Association
amymillerbr@tamu.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2018
Joseph Gentry
Student Government Association
jpgentry@tamu.edu
Ex Officio
Expires in 2018
Angie Price
Engineering Technology & Industrial Dist
price@tamu.edu
979-845-4966
Faculty Representative
Expires in 2018
Laura Peycke
Vet - Small Animal Clinical Sciences
lpeycke@cvm.tamu.edu
979-845-2351
Faculty Representative
Expires in 2019
Gary Ellis
Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Sci
gellis1@tamu.edu
979-845-7324
Ex Officio Ann Kenimer
Undergraduate Studies
a-kenimer@tamu.edu
979-845-4016