Athletic Council

Committee Profile

Owners

  • Chavarria, Sandra
  • Reader, Daniel
  • Smith, Nicole
Purpose:
Advisory to the President on all matters relating to Intercollegiate athletics. Primary responsibility is the academic program within the athletic department.
Membership Selection Process:
Members are appointed by the President. The Council consists of the Chair and five additional faculty members appointed on staggered three-year terms for no more than six years. The Council also consists of two undergraduate student members, one graduate student member, five ex-officio voting members and three resource representatives from the Athletics' department.
Meeting Times:
Meetings are called at the discretion of the chair, usually once a month.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Athletic Department Representative David Batson
Athletic Compliance
d-batson@athletics.tamu.edu
979-845-1904
Athletic Department Representative Scott Woodward
Athletics
swoodward@athletics.tamu.edu
979-845-5129
Athletic Department Representative Lori Williams
Athletics
lwilliams@athletics.tamu.edu
979-845-1030
Chair
Expires in 2019
Gary Ellis
Recreation, Parks & Tourism Science
gellis1@tamu.edu
979-845-7324
Ex Officio Paul Batista
Health and Kinesiology
pbatisa@tamu.edu
979-847-2391
Ex Officio Daniel J. Pugh, Sr.
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs
djpughsr@vpsa.tamu.edu
979-845-4728
Ex Officio Melia Jones
General Counsel
mcjones@tamu.edu
979-458-6140
Ex Officio Ann Kenimer
Associate Provost for Undergraduate Studies
a-kenimer@tamu.edu
979-845-4016
Faculty Representative
Expires in 2019
(Vacant)
Faculty Representative
Expires in 2020
Cecilia Giusti
Landscape Architecture & Urban Planning
cgiusti@arch.tamu.edu
979-458-4304
Faculty Representative
Expires in 2020
Adrienne Carter-Sowell
Psychology
acsowell@tamu.edu
979-845-0378
Faculty Representative
Expires in 2021
Vacant
College of Dentistry

Faculty Representative
Expires in 2021
Vacant
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences

Faculty Representative (Vacant)
Graduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2019
Annette Mackey
Graduate & Professional Student Council
annettemackey@tamu.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2019
Rebekah Hawkins
Undergraduate Student
ryhawkins@tamu.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student)
Expires in 2019
Drew Beakey
Undergraduate Student
drewbeakey@tamu.edu