Scholarship Committee

Committee Profile

Purpose:
The University Scholarship Committee (USC) is designated through the Faculty Senate as the executive agency of the University in matters related to student scholarships and awards. The committee functions to encourage, develop, and evaluate TAMU scholarship programs.

The USC may initiate and perform reviews of university rules, SAPs and all other procedures pertaining to student scholarships. The membership structure of the Committee including designated representatives from colleges and key university administrators are determined by the Faculty Senate. The Committee, through its chair, communicates policy and procedural matters associated with the review of scholarship applications. Scholarships & Financial Aid provides general scholarship recommendations, researches and offers support for best practices and seeks approval for changes in policies and procedures for campus scholarship administration through this committee.

The USC also hears appeals of students whose athletic grants in aid are not renewed. In addition, the committee monitors the administration of student Non-Resident Tuition Waivers for Competitive Scholarship recipients.

Membership Selection Process:
The USC shall consist of Ex Officio members representing the Executive Vice President and Provost, Admissions, Scholarships & Financial Aid, LAUNCH, International Student Services, Graduate and Professional Studies, the Corps of Cadets, Athletics, the Association of Former Students, and the Texas A&M Foundation. USC representatives include staff or faculty from colleges across campus, a representative from the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, a member of the Faculty Senate and two students. The Assistant Vice President for Scholarships & Financial Aid is designated as the secretary of the USC.
Meeting Times:
Meets as needed.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Chair Tom Reber
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs
treber@tamu.edu
845-4728
Vice Chair Byron Stebbins
Office of the Commandant
bstebbins@corps.tamu.edu
458-1034
Admissions Representative Lynn Barnes
Admissions
lbarnes@tamu.edu
458-0971
Association of Former Students Representative Kelli Hutka
Association of Former Students
khutka97@aggienetwork.com
845-7514
Athletic Department Representative Mona Osborne
Athletics
m-osborne@tamu.edu
862-6027
Bush School of Government and Public Service Representative Joe Dillard
Bush School of Government & Public Svc
jbdillard@tamu.edu
862-4623
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Representative Chris Skaggs
College of Agriculture & Life Sci- Admin - Dean
cskaggs@tamu.edu
845-3712
College of Architecture Representative Christopher Novosad
College of Architecture - Admin - Dean
cnovosad@arch.tamu.edu
845-1258
College of Business Representative Daria Panina
College of Business - Admin - Dean
dpanina@tamu.edu
845-4848
College of Education Representative Lorinda Cohen-Gomez
College of Education - Admin - Dean
lcohen@tamu.edu
862-4830
College of Engineering Represenative Lee Lowery
College of Engineering - Admin - Dean
lowery@tamu.edu
845-4395
College of Geosciences Representative Michele Beal
College of Geosciences - Admin - Dean
michelebeal@tamu.edu
458-3963
College of Liberal Arts Representative Barbara Newsom
College of Liberal Arts - Admin - Dean
b-newsom@tamu.edu
845-8357
College of Science Representative Sara Thigpin
College of Science - Admin - Dean
sara@science.tamu.edu
845-7362
College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences Representative Sanjay Reddy
College of Vet Medicine - Admin - Dean
sreddy@cvm.tamu.edu
458-0658
LAUNCH Representative Sumana Datta
LAUNCH
sumad@tamu.edu
862-4641
Library Representative Wyoma van Duinkerken
Libraries
WvanDuin@lib-gw.tamu.edu
862-2878
Office of Graduate and Professional Studies Representative Rachel Dudley
Office of Graduate and Professional Studies
r-dudley@tamu.edu
845-3631
Office of the Commandant Representative Mike Dulke
Office of the Commandant
mdulke@corps.tamu.edu
458-0469
School of Law Representative Terence Cook
School of Law
tcook@law.tamu.edu
817-212-4045
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student) Christopher Henson
Student (SGA Appointed)
chenson@tamu.edu
Undergraduate Student Representative (Student) Luke Oaks
Undergraduate Student
loaks15@tamu.edu
Student Financial Aid Representative Delisa Falks
Student Financial Aid
delisaf@tamu.edu
458-5398
Student Financial Aid Representative Nora Cargo
Student Financial Aid
ncargo@tamu.edu
458-5310
Student Financial Aid Representative Judi Haas
Student Financial Aid
jhaas98@tamu.edu
458-5371
Study Abroad Programs Representative Katy Lane
Study Abroad Program
klane@tamu.edu
458-2094
Texas A&M Foundation Representative Marcy Ullmann
Texas A&M Foundation
m-ullmann@tamu.edu
845-6383
Provost's Office Representative Jose Villalobos
Vice Provost
jvillalo@tamu.edu
845-8208