Committee Profile

Owners

  • Rueda, Laura
Purpose:
The Graduate and Professional Council shall review all curricular requests pertaining to graduate and professional academic programs, shall be responsible for the quality and development of the graduate instruction and programs, and shall advise the Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate and Professional School on all graduate and professional program matters.

The Council shall have the authority to create standing and ad hoc committees as necessary to carry out its duties and responsibilities.

The Council shall communicate in writing, through its administrative assistant, its recommendations to the Faculty Senate, by way of the Executive Committee.
Membership Selection Process:
Membership shall consist of the following individuals:

• One (1) representative from each college and off-campus academic unit who shall be selected by the Faculty Senate Executive committee after consultation with the college deans and caucuses (chairs of the college committees for graduate instruction shall be considered for appointment)
• Two (2) representatives of the Graduate Faculty
• Two (2) graduate students
• Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate and Professional School (Ex-Officio)

All faculty members shall be members of the Graduate Faculty.

All of the above members except the Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate and Professional School shall be voting members. In the absence of the appointed member, a substitute may vote on behalf of that unit.

A representative from the Graduate and Professional School and one representative of the University Library Council shall serve as non-voting members. In addition, a representative from Curricular Services shall serve and provide advice as a non-voting member.

All faculty members shall serve three-year terms. Those serving on a committee as a result of their Texas A&M University position shall continue to serve as long as they are in that position. Student members shall serve one-year terms.

A representative from the Graduate and Professional School shall serve as the Administrative Assistant but not have voting privileges.

To ensure continuity, the Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate and Professional School shall serve as the Chair of the Council.
Meeting Times:
First Thursday of each month.

Roster

Position Name Contact
At Large Faculty Representative Christian Brannstrom
College of Geosciences - Admin - Dean
cbrannst@tamu.edu
979-845-5923
At Large Faculty Representative Michael Shaub
Mays Business School
mshaub@mays.tamu.edu
979.458.1375
At Large Faculty Representative Jeff Hatala
School of Public Health
jhatala@tamu.edu
At Large Faculty Representative David Kessler
College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
DKessler@cvm.tamu.edu
At Large Faculty Representative Blease Graham
Bush School of Government & Public Svc
cole_graham@tamu.edu
979-458-8028
At Large Faculty Representative Mark Zoran
College of Science - Admin - Dean
mjzoran@tamu.edu
979-845-8099
At Large Faculty Representative Kathy Svoboda
College of Dentistry
ksvoboda@tamu.edu
At Large Faculty Representative Matthew Sorenson
College of Nursing - Admin - Dean
msorenson@tamu.edu
979-436-0141
At Large Faculty Representative Mansoor Khan
College of Pharmacy
mkhan@tamu.edu
979-436-0561
At Large Faculty Representative Hank Walker
Computer Science & Engineering
d-walker@tamu.edu
979-845-5820
At Large Faculty Representative Mary Bryk
College of Agriculture & Life Sci- Admin - Dean
bryk@tamu.edu
979-847-6180
At Large Faculty Representative Maria Escobar-Lemmon
College of Liberal Arts - Admin - Dean
m_escobar@tamu.edu
At Large Faculty Representative Rajesh Miranda
College of Medicine
rmiranda@tamu.edu
At Large Faculty Representative Katie Reed
Architecture
kreed@arch.tamu.edu
At Large Faculty Representative Charlotte Ku
School of Law
cku@law.tamu.edu
817-212-4039
Chair Karen Butler-Purry
Graduate and Professional Studies
klbutler@tamu.edu
979-845-3631
Graduate Faculty Representative Dennis Jansen
Dir Private Enterprise Research Center
dennisjansen@tamu.edu
19798457375
Graduate and Professional Student Council Representative (Student) Staci Rende
Graduate & Professional Student Government
srende3@exchange.tamu.edu
Graduate and Professional Student Council Representative (Student)
Expires in 2022
Megan Svajda-Hardy
Graduate & Professional Student Government
mhardy2@tamu.edu
Non-Voting Member Sandra Williams
Office of Registrar
sandra-williams@tamu.edu
19798456890
Non-Voting Member Nicole Kinslow
TAMU Galveston
kinslown@tamug.edu
409-740-4937
Non-Voting Member Paula Sullenger
Libraries
psullenger@tamu.edu
979-845-7308