Committee Profile

Owners

  • Gibson-Mainka, Sharon
  • Vaught, Ethel
Purpose:
The Security and Policies Committee (SPC) is charged with providing oversight and support of Texas A&M University information security by authoring privacy-related policies, procedures, and security initiatives. The committee recommends strategic direction on campus information security and data privacy-related work to ensure that it supports the University mission. SPC works in close collaboration with the University Rule Team and Enterprise Risk Management Group within the Office of University Risk and Compliance.
Membership Selection Process:
Appointed by the Provost, Vice President for Student Affairs, Vice President for IT and CIO, Vice President for Research, Vice President for Enrollment and Academic services, and the Vice President and CFO.

Meeting Times:
4th Wednesday of September, November, February, April, and June

Roster

Position Name Contact
Academic Services IT Representative Kyle Page
IT Academic Services
kpage@tamu.edu
458 5214
Division of IT EIR Accessibility Coordinator Cynthia Kauder
Division of Information Technology
ckauder@tamu.edu
979-862-6834
Division of IT Representative Adam Mikeal
Division of Information Technology
adam@tamu.edu
19794581342
Division of IT Representative Kristen Kubenka
Division of Information Technology

Division of Research Representative Aaron Brender
Vice Pres for Research
a-brender@tamu.edu
979-847-9490
Faculty Representative Danny Davis
Bush School of Government & Public Svc
dannywdavis@tamu.edu
Faculty Representative Dwayne Whitten
Mays Business School
dwhitten@mays.tamu.edu
IT Professional Representative John Kovacevich
TAMU Galveston
kovacevi@tamug.edu
409-740-4461
IT Professional Representative Michael Leary
College of Engineering - Admin - Dean
mleary@tamu.edu
IT Professional Representative Garrett Yamada
Division of Information Technology
garrettyamada@tamu.edu
IT Professional Representative Michael Thompson
Athletics
mtjr@tamu.edu
Privacy Officer John Pryde
University Risk & Compliance
jpryde@tamu.edu
(979) 845-9853
TAMUS Office of General Counsel Representative Kate Pharr
TAMUS Office of General Counsel
kpharr@tamus.edu
Transportation Services Representative Joshua Shepard
Transportation Services
jshepard@tamu.edu
University Risk & Compliance Representative Matt Walton
Health Science Center
m-walton@tamu.edu
979-436-9248
University Risk & Compliance Representative Margaret (Peggy) Zapalac
University Risk & Compliance
m-zapalac@tamu.edu
979-845-8115
Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer Michael Sardaryzadeh
Division of Information Technology
msardaryzadeh@tamu.edu