IT Governance Program - Strategic IT Committee

Committee Profile

Owners

  • Kissee, Joshua
  • Gibson-Mainka, Sharon
Purpose:
Accountable and transparent to the Texas A&M University community, the Strategic IT Committee (SITC) advises and executes decisions on IT strategies, investments, operations, priorities and services.

The SITC is the direct input body to the Executive IT Council (EITC) among the ITG framework. While overall strategies and priorities are set by the EITC, the SITC defines and recommends approaches to key IT issues requiring decisions. The SITC requests the other ITG framework committees to take the lead in exploring new IT opportunities, resolving IT issues and recommending courses of action. The SITC may launch special-interest task forces to address and make recommendations on issues that span all ITG committees. The SITC governs IT policy, funding for new University-wide IT services, major projects or IT initiatives, as well as replacement or retirement of IT services and functions. Project priorities, initiative management, and forecasting IT service needs are all important responsibilities of the SITC.

Each committee in the ITG framework is responsible for identifying and drafting IT policies relative to their scope with the intention of routing to the Information Risk, Policy, and Security Committee (IRPSC). The SITC drafts IT policies that do not fit within the scope of the other ITG framework committees (e.g., it will route policies in draft status for review by the IRPSC before submission to the CIO.

The SITC produces the following outputs, including, but not limited to the following scope.

Recommendations, strategies, and special reports intended as an input to the Executive IT Council in the genre of:

-University-wide IT Funding Strategies.

-University-wide Policy that sets precedent as received by the Information Risk, Policy, and Security.

-University-wide IT Strategic Plans.

-University-wide IT Principles.

-Final decision on issues originating from any IT Governance committee where Executive IT Council approval is not required.

-Recommendations on Information Risk, Policy, and Security to the IRPSC committee.

-Requests to all other committees for the exploration of new IT opportunities, resolving IT issues and recommending courses of action related to the scope of a respective committee.

-Requests to all other ITG input bodies for presentations and reports on IT strategy, operations, plans, technical architecture, or policy matters from across the University.

-Requests to IT organizations across the University for presentation and reports on IT strategy, operations, plans, technical architecture, or policy matters from across the University.


Membership Selection Process:
Appointed by the President, Provost, Deans, Vice Presidents, Committees, or Organizations.

Meeting Times:
A minimum of 4 meetings per year (up to 6 meetings where necessary) on the 2nd Wednesday of the month in February, May, August, and November. The committee will determine modifications to the meeting schedule as needed based on current activities. Meetings will be staggered to avoid conflict with other governance bodies.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Campus Leader - Health Sciences Center
Expires in 3 years, May 2020
Jeffery Burton
Senior Vice President & CEO
burton@tamu.edu
979-436-9226
Campus Leader
Expires in 2 years, May 2019
Jorge Vanegas
Dean of College of Architecture
jvanegas@tamu.edu
979-845-1223
Campus Leader
Expires in Permanent
Mark Barteau
*Select Department

Council of Deans Representative
Expires in 2 years, May 2019
David Carlson
Libraries
davidhcarlson@tamu.edu
979-845-8111
Council of Principal Investigators
Expires in 2 years, May 2019
Darren Depoy
Physics and Astronomy
depoy@physics.tamu.edu
Ex Officio Cheryl Cato
Division of Information Technology
ccato@tamu.edu
979-845-9999
Ex Officio Juan Garza
IT Academic Services
jegarza@tamu.edu
979-458-5216
Ex Officio Karen Hrncir
IT Academic Services
khrncir@tamu.edu
979-458-0227
Ex Officio Susan Bloomfield
Health and Kinesiology
sbloom@tamu.edu
979-845-4787
Ex Officio Catharina Laporte
Anthropology
claporte@tamu.edu
979-845-5242
Faculty Member
Expires in 2 years, May 2019
Leonard Bright
Public Service and Administration
lbright@tamu.edu
979-862-3028
Faculty Member Yalchin Efendiev
Mathematics
efendiev@tamu.edu
(979) 845-1972
Faculty Senate Representative
Expires in 2020
Robert Hetland
Oceanography
hetland@tamu.edu
(979) 458-0096
Graduate and Professional Student Council Representative (Student) Purna Doddapaneni
Graduate & Professional Student Council
doddapanenipc@tamu.edu
IT Leader Representative Billy Chollett
Libraries
b-chollett@tamu.edu
19798621389
Office of Budget and Planning Representative
Expires in Permanent
Mark Herzog
Office of Budgeting and Analytical Serv
herzog@tamu.edu
979-862-2371
SGA - Student Senate Representative (Student)
Expires in 2 years, May 2019
Leonard Rivera
Undergraduate Student
riveralj2651@tamu.edu
TAMU Galveston Representative
Expires in 2 years, May 2019
Wesley Highfield
TAMU Galveston
highfiew@tamug.edu
409-740-4726
TAMU Qatar Representative
Expires in 2 years, May 2019
Othmane Bouhali
TAMU - Qatar Campus
othmane.bouhali@qatar.tamu.edu
Texas A&M IT - Executive Director and Deputy CIO
Expires in Permanent
Pete Marchbanks
Division of Information Technology
pete-marchbanks@tamu.edu
979-845-9999
University Staff Council Representative Casey Ricketts
Dean of Education
cricketts@tamu.edu
979-862-7167
Vice President for Enrollment and Academic Services Joseph Pettibon II
VP Academic Services Adloc
Jpp2@tamu.edu
979-845-4016
Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
Expires in Permanent
Melody 'Dee' Childs
Division of Information Technology
mdeechilds@tamu.edu
979-845-9999