Committee Profile

Owners

  • Gibson-Mainka, Sharon
  • Vaught, Ethel
Purpose:
Accountable and transparent to the Texas A&M University community, the Strategic IT Committee (SITC) advises and executes decisions on IT strategies, investments, operations, priorities and services.

The SITC is the direct input body to the Executive IT Council (EITC) among the ITG framework. While overall strategies and priorities are set by the EITC, the SITC defines and recommends approaches to key IT issues requiring decisions. The SITC requests the other ITG framework committees to take the lead in exploring new IT opportunities, resolving IT issues and recommending courses of action. The SITC may launch special-interest task forces to address and make recommendations on issues that span all ITG committees. The SITC governs IT policy, funding for new University-wide IT services, major projects or IT initiatives, as well as replacement or retirement of IT services and functions. Project priorities, initiative management, and forecasting IT service needs are all important responsibilities of the SITC.

Each committee in the ITG framework is responsible for identifying and drafting IT policies relative to their scope with the intention of routing to the Information Risk, Policy, and Security Committee (IRPSC). The SITC drafts IT policies that do not fit within the scope of the other ITG framework committees (e.g., it will route policies in draft status for review by the IRPSC before submission to the CIO.

The SITC produces the following outputs, including, but not limited to the following scope.

Recommendations, strategies, and special reports intended as an input to the Executive IT Council in the genre of:

-University-wide IT Funding Strategies.

-University-wide Policy that sets precedent as received by the Information Risk, Policy, and Security.

-University-wide IT Strategic Plans.

-University-wide IT Principles.

-Final decision on issues originating from any IT Governance committee where Executive IT Council approval is not required.

-Recommendations on Information Risk, Policy, and Security to the IRPSC committee.

-Requests to all other committees for the exploration of new IT opportunities, resolving IT issues and recommending courses of action related to the scope of a respective committee.

-Requests to all other ITG input bodies for presentations and reports on IT strategy, operations, plans, technical architecture, or policy matters from across the University.

-Requests to IT organizations across the University for presentation and reports on IT strategy, operations, plans, technical architecture, or policy matters from across the University.


Membership Selection Process:
Appointed by the President, Provost, Deans, Vice Presidents, Committees, or Organizations.

Meeting Times:
A minimum of 4 meetings per year (up to 6 meetings where necessary) on the 2nd Wednesday of the month in February, May, August, and November. The committee will determine modifications to the meeting schedule as needed based on current activities. Meetings will be staggered to avoid conflict with other governance bodies.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Campus Leader Jeffery Burton
Senior Vice President & CEO
burton@tamu.edu
979-436-9226
Campus Leader Karen Butler-Purry
Graduate and Professional Studies
klbutler@tamu.edu
979-845-3631
Campus Leader Jorge Vanegas
Dean of College of Architecture
jvanegas@tamu.edu
979-845-1223
Chair Melody 'Dee' Childs
Division of Information Technology
mdeechilds@tamu.edu
979-845-9999
Council of Deans Representative David Carlson
Libraries
davidhcarlson@tamu.edu
979-845-8111
Division of Finance and Operations Representative Tracy Foster
Division of Finance and Operations
tfoster211@tamu.edu
979-862-2364
Ex Officio Cheryl Cato
Division of Information Technology
ccato@tamu.edu
979-845-9999
Ex Officio Jerry Strawser
Vice President for Finance and Operations CFO
jstrawser@tamu.edu
979-862-7777
Ex Officio Phillip Guillen
Division of Information Technology
pguillen@tamu.edu
979-845-8456
Ex Officio Mark Herzog
Office of Budgeting and Analytical Serv
herzog@tamu.edu
979-862-2371
Ex Officio Jon Jasperson
Mays Business School
jon.jasperson@tamu.edu
979-845-7946
Ex Officio Paul Wellman
Dean of Liberal Arts
paul-wellman@tamu.edu
979-845-2557
Ex Officio Adam Mikeal
Division of Information Technology
adam@tamu.edu
19794581342
Ex Officio William Deigaard
Division of Information Technology
soren@tamu.edu
979-845-1265
Ex Officio Craig Coates
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
ccoates@tamu.edu
979-458-1219
Ex Officio Kris Wuensche
College of Nursing
wuensche@tamu.edu
(979) 436-0123
Faculty Representative Yalchin Efendiev
Mathematics
efendiev@tamu.edu
(979) 845-1972
Faculty Senate Representative Robert Hetland
Oceanography
hetland@tamu.edu
(979) 458-0096
Graduate and Professional Student Council Representative (Student) Purna Chandra Doddapaneni
Graduate & Professional Student Government
doddapanenipc@tamu.edu
IT Professional Representative Debbie Thomas
College of Geosciences - Admin - Dean
dthomas@tamu.edu
979-845-3651
Student Government Representative (Student)
Expires in 2021
(Vacant)
TAMU Galveston Representative Patrick Louchouarn
Associate Vice Pres.-Academic Affairs
loup@tamu.edu
409-740-4710
University Staff Council Representative Annie Crump
Division of Enrollment Management & Academic Services
acrump@tamu.edu
979-458-5364
Vice President for Enrollment and Academic Services Joseph Pettibon II
VP Academic Services Adloc
Jpp2@tamu.edu
979-845-4016
Vice President for Research Mark Barteau
Vice Pres for Research
barteau@tamu.edu
979-845-8585