Digital Signage Steering Committee

Committee Profile

Owners

  • Persky, Tracy
Purpose:
The purpose of the Digital Signage Steering Committee (Committee) is to provide guidance and information to the campus community on digital signage issues including communication, coordination, cooperation, collaboration, acquisition, implementation, and cost-recovery model.
Membership Selection Process:
The Committee shall consist of at least one voting member from each College and Division represented in the digital signage service with additional voting members to the committee for each 25 player licenses owned. A chair of the Committee shall be elected annually based upon a simple majority vote, chosen from the non-IT voting membership.

Additionally, the Committee shall have two voting members appointed by the shared service provider(s). These members, representing IT, shall also act as liaisons to a Technical Advisory Subcommittee (TAS) consisting of IT representatives from the represented Colleges and Divisions. A Content Advisory Subcommittee (CAS) shall also report to the Committee via a Content representative appointed by the Committee Chair, and selected from among Committee members. Membership of the CAS may come from the university community at large.
Meeting Times:
First Thursday in odd months from 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM in Koldus 144 (Governance Room).
Additional Information:
The Committee shall have the authority to govern university-level decisions related to digital signage usage as it applies to appropriate university and state rules and standard administrative procedures. An example would be system-wide messaging policies such as CodeMaroon.

The committee shall have the authority to recommend a cost-recovery model to appropriate shared-service providers of digital signage based upon licensing, current needs, and future goals. These recommendations shall include infrastructure and personnel costs, licensing, training needs, and vendor development for the common good. Each year, the Committee shall review and recommend a billing structure that accounts for operating expenses and capital outlay to support the service.

The Committee shall also be responsible for the alignment of the digital signage service with the overall business goals of the university. At such time in the service life cycle that the current service no longer meets the needs of the university, the Committee shall initiate an appropriate process to identify a replacement.
Shared Service Providers shall have authority over digital signage architecture and technical decisions as well as defining adequate levels of oversight and management. These decisions shall be communicated to the Committee for support.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Chair Tracy Persky
Division of Information Technology
persky@tamu.edu
19798450927
Member
Expires in 2019
Jerod Wilson
Recreational Sports
jwilson@rec.tamu.edu
862-3058
Member
Expires in 2019
Richard Spiller
Open Access Labs
spiller@tamu.edu
19798454439
Member
Expires in 2019
Kyle Page
IT Academic Services
kpage@tamu.edu
458 5214
Member
Expires in 2019
Paul Stine
Geography
p-stine@tamu.edu
574 9325
Member
Expires in 2019
Rick Young
Dean of Veterinary Medicine
ryoung@tamu.edu
979-862-7043
Member
Expires in 2019
Mitch Wittneben
Engineering IT Group Adloc
mwittneben@tamu.edu
845 5253
Technical Representative
Expires in 2020
Callan Christensen
Division of Student Affairs IT Support
callan@tamu.edu
19798627990
Technical Representative
Expires in 2019
Ashish Ausekar
Division of Information Technology
aausekar@tamu.edu
(979) 458-4287
Technical Representative
Expires in 2019
Bill Salin
Division of Information Technology
bsalin@tamu.edu
(979) 862-3954