University Staff Council

Committee Profile

Owners

  • Berryhill, Rose
Purpose:
The council will provide a voice and integrate staff perspective by:
1. Acting as a conduit for two-way communication between staff and administration.
2. Engaging staff and bringing their interests before the administration.
3. Identifying university issues and their impact on staff.
4. Exploring and researching possible solutions.
5. Providing options and recommendations to the President.
6. Interacting with other councils.

The University Staff Council will not act in an advocacy role in any specific employee/employer policy matter or dispute within the University, nor will it assume the role of arbitrator in any such matter. Employees are encouraged to work directly with their supervisor or management personnel, or their appropriate Human Resources office, if issues are specific to their personal situation. Employees submitting inquiries to this website should be aware that an inquiry will be reviewed by a subcommittee of the University Staff Council for response.



Membership Selection Process:
Nomination Process: (as needed and prescribed by notification from the USC Elections Committee)
Each unit will:
• Describe the role and expectations of being a USC representative
• Promote and facilitate staff participation in the nomination process
• Conduct the nomination process electronically and/or in print format to reach all staff within the college/division; the nomination form ensure eligibility and supervisor approval and is available online on the Governance and Committees page at http://staff.tamu.edu
• Encourage staff who have not had as many professional development opportunities to consider being nominated to serve on the USC; outreach should be conducted electronically, in print and/or in staff meetings to reach all staff in the organization
• Communicate the following desired competencies: ability to build relationships, interpersonal skills, leadership, creative problem solving, strategic thinking, commitment to staff issues and university mission, development of staff and others, communications skills, ability to devote time and energy to USC meetings and committee assignments
Election Process:
• Each organization will create an election ballot and conduct a confidential election, electronic and/or print, through existing established processes within the organization, to reach all staff within the organization [sample of ballot provided by USC]
• If an established practice does not exist within the organization and an electronic ballot is preferred, collaborate with USC to create a ballot and conduct a confidential election
Each Unit election coordinator will:
• Submit the name of the elected representative(s) to the USC Election Committee Chair on or before date prescribed in documentation from the USC Elections Committee.
• Submit copies of nomination forms to the USC Election Committee Chair for record-keeping on eligibility with the elected representative's name on or before date prescribed in documentations from the USC Elections Committee. (This is based on by-laws for the Election Committee Chair position to "compile nominations". Nomination form ensures eligibility and supervisor approval so that step is completed at the organization level.)
• Report election results electronically and/or in print to reach all staff within the organization
• Report election results via email to the USC Election Committee Chair


Meeting Times:
The USC meets the 3rd Tuesday of every month. All USC meetings are open to the public and staff are encouraged to attend. Please visit the web site http://staff.tamu.edu for locations of the monthly meeting.


Additional Information:
To submit an issue to the council, you may email us at staff@tamu.edu or you may contact your respective representative. You may ask your representative to submit the issue for you if you do not wish to submit the issue under your own name, and you may request your identity be kept private.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Chair
Expires in 8/31/2021
Casey Ricketts
Dean of Education
cricketts@tamu.edu
Co-Chair
Expires in 8/31/2020
Melissa Ealsey
Admissions
melissaeasley@tamu.edu
979/458-0952
Ex Officio
Expires in 8/31/2019
Jackie Gibson
Chancellor, Office of the
jgibson@tamus.edu
979.458.6107
Ex Officio
Expires in 8/31/2019
Cathleen Karr Simons
Texas Engineering Experiment Station
ckarr17@tamu.edu
Ex Officio
Expires in 8/31/2019
Elizabeth Scanlin
University Staff Council - Former EOC
escanlin@cvm.tamu.edu
979-845-9120
Ex Officio
Expires in 8/31/2019
Michelle Newtwon
TAMU - Council of Sr. Business Administrators
mnewton@sph.tamhsc.edu
979.436.9414
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Sharon LeMieux
College of Medicine
lemieux@pharmacy.tamhsc.edu
361-221-0603
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Melissa Loyd
Division of Finance and Operations
mloyd@utilities.tamu.edu
979-458-4951
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Renee O'Banion
Transportation Services
r-obanion@tamu.edu
979-862-7211
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Johna Wright - Member At Large
College of Medicine
pettit@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Ross Jarvis
Vice Pres for Research
r-jarvis@tamu.edu
979-458-8570
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Kelly Pampell
Finance
kelly-j-pampell@tamu.edu
979-845-2986
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Cari Smith
TAMU Galveston
bishopC@tamug.edu
409-740-4403
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Thadeus Bowerman
University Writing Center
thadeus@tamu.edu
979-845-7151
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Joy Monroe
President, Texas A&M University
jmonroe@tamu.edu
979-845-2217
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Elena Watts
Marketing and Communications
elenaw@tamu.edu
979-845-7129
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Stephanie Thompson
School of Law
stephanie.thompson@law.tamu.edu
817-212-4048
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Kristina Reyes
College of Nursing - Admin - Dean
creyes@tamhsc.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Kimberly Zemanek
Medicine - Health Science Center
kzemanek@tamhsc.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Barbara Schumacher
Student Life Studies
bschumacher@tamu.edu
862-5624
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Darla Guerra
Transportation Services
dguerra@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Deanna Lormand
College of Science - Admin - Dean
deanna@stat.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Nicole Filger
School of Rural Public Health
filger@sph.tamhsc.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Cathy Capps
Athletics
ccapps@athletics.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in August 31, 2019
Geeta Megchiani
TAMU - Qatar Campus
geeta.megchiani@qatar.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Shanielle Veazie
College of Architecture - Admin - Dean
sveazie@arch.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Peg Hosea
International Affairs
plhosea@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Kristina Ballard
Engineering Communications Group
kristina.ballard@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Allison Harms
Dean of Geosciences
allisonharms@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Israel De Leon
University Libraries
ideleon@library.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Jilll Jurena Lee
College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
jjurena@cvm.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Flora Reeves
Transportation Services
freeves@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Kelly Peck
Human Resources
kpeck@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Sally Xiaobing Yang
Division of Information Technology
syang@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Jennifer Kuehn
Division of Enrollment Management & Academic Services
j--kuehn@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Lisa Pierce
Division of Student Affairs
lisap@housing.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Doug Sweet - Member At Large
Memorial Student Center
dsweet@tamu.edu
979/847-8945
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Wendi Brewer - Treasurer
Political Science
wbrewer@tamu.edu
979-845-2579
Member
Expires in August 31, 2020
Vacant
College of Dentistry

Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Vacant
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences

Secretary
Expires in 8/31/2020
Annie Crump
Division of Enrollment Management & Academic Services
acrump@tamu.edu