University Staff Council

Committee Profile

Purpose:
The council will provide a voice and integrate staff perspective by:
1. Acting as a conduit for two-way communication between staff and administration.
2. Engaging staff and bringing their interests before the administration.
3. Identifying university issues and their impact on staff.
4. Exploring and researching possible solutions.
5. Providing options and recommendations to the President.
6. Interacting with other councils.

The University Staff Council will not act in an advocacy role in any specific employee/employer policy matter or dispute within the University, nor will it assume the role of arbitrator in any such matter. Employees are encouraged to work directly with their supervisor or management personnel, or their appropriate Human Resources office, if issues are specific to their personal situation. Employees submitting inquiries to this website should be aware that an inquiry will be reviewed by a subcommittee of the University Staff Council for response.



Membership Selection Process:
Nomination Process:
Each unit will:
• Describe the role and expectations of being a USC representative
• Promote and facilitate staff participation in the nomination process
• Conduct the nomination process electronically and/or in print format to reach all staff within the college/division; the nomination form ensure eligibility and supervisor approval and is available online on the Governance and Committees page at http://staff.tamu.edu
• Encourage staff who have not had as many professional development opportunities to consider being nominated to serve on the USC; outreach should be conducted electronically, in print and/or in staff meetings to reach all staff in the organization
• Communicate the following desired competencies: ability to build relationships, interpersonal skills, leadership, creative problem solving, strategic thinking, commitment to staff issues and university mission, development of staff and others, communications skills, ability to devote time and energy to USC meetings and committee assignments
Election Process:
• Each organization will create an election ballot and conduct a confidential election, electronic and/or print, through existing established processes within the organization, to reach all staff within the organization [sample of ballot provided by USC]
• If an established practice does not exist within the organization and an electronic ballot is preferred, collaborate with USC to create a ballot and conduct a confidential election
Each Unit election coordinator will:
• Submit the name of the elected representative(s) to the USC Election Committee Chair on or before May 31
• Submit copies of nomination forms to the USC Election Committee Chair for record-keeping on eligibility with the elected representative's name on or before June 28 (This is based on by-laws for the Election Committee Chair position to "compile nominations". Nomination form ensures eligibility and supervisor approval so that step is completed at the organization level.)
• Report election results electronically and/or in print to reach all staff within the organization
• Report election results via email to the USC Election Committee Chair


Meeting Times:
The USC meets the 3rd Tuesday of every month. All USC meetings are open to the public and staff are encouraged to attend. Please visit the web site http://staff.tamu.edu for locations of the monthly meeting.


Additional Information:
To submit an issue to the council, you may email us at staff@tamu.edu or you may contact your respective representative. You may ask your representative to submit the issue for you if you do not wish to submit the issue under your own name, and you may request your identity be kept private.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Sharon LeMieux
College of Medicine
lemieux@pharmacy.tamhsc.edu
361-221-0603
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Melissa Loyd
VP for Finance
mloyd@utilities.tamu.edu
979-458-4951
Member
Expires in 8/31/2018
Araon Hernandez
College of Architecture - Admin - Dean
kdunn@arch.tamu.edu
979-845-0216
Member
Expires in 8/31/2018
Rebecca Eaton
Bush School of Government & Public Svc
rebeccaeaton@tamu.edu
979-845-7614
Member
Expires in 8/31/2018
Mary Lu Epps
College of Engineering - Admin - Dean
marylu.epps@pe.tamu.edu
979-458-4297
Member
Expires in 8/31/2018
Lisa Reichert
College of Geosciences - Admin - Dean
lreichert@tamu.edu
979-845-2453
Member
Expires in 8/31/2018
Mashalle Gomez -- Treasurer
University Libraries
mmgomez@library.tamu.edu
979-458-1897
Secretary
Expires in 8/31/2018
Elizabeth Scanlin - Secretary
Vet - Dean's Office 016
escanlin@cvm.tamu.edu
979-845-9120
Member
Expires in 8/31/2018
John Kay
Vice President for Finance and CFO
jkay@tamu.edu
979-845-2345
Member
Expires in 8/31/2018
Jenna Truelove
Human Resources
jtruelove@tamu.edu
979-862-1720
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Renee O'Banion
Vice President for Finance and CFO
r-obanion@tamu.edu
979-862-7211
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Johna Wright - Member At Large
College of Medicine
pettit@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Ross Jarvis
Research Foundation
r-jarvis@tamu.edu
979-458-8570
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Kari Curtis
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
kari.curtis@ag.tamu.edu
979-458-8543
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Kelly Pampell - Member At Large
Mays Business School
kelly-j-pampell@tamu.edu
979-845-2986
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Cari Smith
TAMU Galveston
bishopC@tamug.edu
409-740-4403
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Thadeus Bowerman
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
thadeus@tamu.edu
979-845-7151
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Joy Monroe
President's Office
jmonroe@tamu.edu
979-845-2217
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Elena Watts
Marketing and Communications
elenaw@tamu.edu
979-845-7129
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Deborah Barnett
School of Law
dbarnett@law.tamu.edu
817-212-4048
Member
Expires in 8/31/2019
Diane Oswald
College of Nursing - Admin - Dean
doswald@tamu.edu
979-845-5355
Member
Expires in 8/31/2018
Susan Edmisson
Texas A&M IT
s-edmisson@tamu.edu
979-845-3318
Chair
Expires in 8/31/2019
Doug Sweet
Memorial Student Center
dsweet@msc.tamu.edu
979-847-8945
Co-Chair
Expires in 8/31/2018
Casey Ricketts
College of Education - Admin - Dean
cricketts@tamu.edu
979-862-7167
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Wendi Brewer
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
abalvarado@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Kimberly Zemanek
Medicine - Health Science Center
kzemanek@tamhsc.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Barbara Schumacher
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs
bschumacher@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Melissa Easley
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
melissaeasley@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Annie Crump
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
anniebee88@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Darla Guerra
Division of Finance and Administration
dguerra@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Deanna Lormand
College of Science - Admin - Dean
deanna@stat.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Nicole Filger
School of Rural Public Health
filger@sph.tamhsc.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Cathy Capps
Athletics
ccapps@athletics.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2020
Andrea Correa
TAMU Baylor College of Dentistry
correa@tamhsc.edu
Member
Expires in August 31, 2018
Blair Alvarado
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
abalvarado@tamu.edu
979-458-3378
Ex Officio
Expires in August 31, 2018
Toni Eubanks
Environmental Health & Safety Department
toni@tamu.edu
Ex Officio
Expires in August 31, 2018
Jackie Gibson
Chancellor, Office of the
jgibson@tamus.edu
Member
Expires in August 31, 2019
Geeta Megchiani
TAMU - Qatar Campus
geeta.megchiani@qatar.tamu.edu
Ex Officio
Expires in August 31, 2018
John O'Neill
Budgets & Information Services
atm98john@tamu.edu
Ex Officio
Expires in August 31, 2018
Jeanelle Windham
AgriLife Extension
jwindham@tamu.edu