Committee Profile

Owners

  • Berryhill, Rose
Purpose:
The council will provide a voice and integrate staff perspective by:
1. Acting as a conduit for two-way communication between staff and administration.
2. Engaging staff and bringing their interests before the administration.
3. Identifying university issues and their impact on staff.
4. Exploring and researching possible solutions.
5. Providing options and recommendations to the President.
6. Interacting with other councils.

The University Staff Council will not act in an advocacy role in any specific employee/employer policy matter or dispute within the University, nor will it assume the role of arbitrator in any such matter. Employees are encouraged to work directly with their supervisor or management personnel, or their appropriate Human Resources office, if issues are specific to their personal situation. Employees submitting inquiries to this website should be aware that an inquiry will be reviewed by a subcommittee of the University Staff Council for response.



Membership Selection Process:
Nomination Process: (as needed and prescribed by notification from the USC Elections Committee)
Each unit will:
• Describe the role and expectations of being a USC representative
• Promote and facilitate staff participation in the nomination process
• Conduct the nomination process electronically and/or in print format to reach all staff within the college/division; the nomination form ensure eligibility and supervisor approval and is available online on the Governance and Committees page at http://staff.tamu.edu
• Encourage staff who have not had as many professional development opportunities to consider being nominated to serve on the USC; outreach should be conducted electronically, in print and/or in staff meetings to reach all staff in the organization
• Communicate the following desired competencies: ability to build relationships, interpersonal skills, leadership, creative problem solving, strategic thinking, commitment to staff issues and university mission, development of staff and others, communications skills, ability to devote time and energy to USC meetings and committee assignments
Election Process:
• Each organization will create an election ballot and conduct a confidential election, electronic and/or print, through existing established processes within the organization, to reach all staff within the organization [sample of ballot provided by USC]
• If an established practice does not exist within the organization and an electronic ballot is preferred, collaborate with USC to create a ballot and conduct a confidential election
Each Unit election coordinator will:
• Submit the name of the elected representative(s) to the USC Election Committee Chair on or before date prescribed in documentation from the USC Elections Committee.
• Submit copies of nomination forms to the USC Election Committee Chair for record-keeping on eligibility with the elected representative's name on or before date prescribed in documentations from the USC Elections Committee. (This is based on by-laws for the Election Committee Chair position to "compile nominations". Nomination form ensures eligibility and supervisor approval so that step is completed at the organization level.)
• Report election results electronically and/or in print to reach all staff within the organization
• Report election results via email to the USC Election Committee Chair


Meeting Times:
The USC meets the 3rd Tuesday of every month. All USC meetings are open to the public and staff are encouraged to attend. Please visit the web site http://staff.tamu.edu for locations of the monthly meeting.


Additional Information:
To submit an issue to the council, you may email us at staff@tamu.edu or you may contact your respective representative. You may ask your representative to submit the issue for you if you do not wish to submit the issue under your own name, and you may request your identity be kept private.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Chair
Expires in August 31, 2021
Kristina Ballard
Engineering Communications Group
kristina.ballard@tamu.edu
979.458.9861
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Shanielle Veazie
College of Architecture - Admin - Dean
sveazie@arch.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Peg Hosea
International Affairs
plhosea@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Allison Harms
Dean of Geosciences
allisonharms@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Jilll Jurena Lee
College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
jjurena@cvm.tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Flora Reeves
Transportation Services
freeves@tamu.edu
Member
Expires in 8/31/2021
Lisa Pierce
Residence Life
lisap@housing.tamu.edu
Secretary
Expires in 8/31/2021
Sally Yang
Division of Information Technology
syang@tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in 8/31/2022
Holly Hudson
Division of Academic Affairs
hhudson@tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in 8/31/2022
Lana Nixson
Division of Finance and Operations
lnixson@tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in 8/31/2022
Angela Vasquez
President, Texas A&M University
avasquez@tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in 8/31/2022
Vernon Camus
TAMU Galveston
vamusv@tamug.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in 8/31/2022
Courtney Guest
College of Medicine
cguest@medicine.tamhsc.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in 8/31/2022
Cindy Hurt - Treasurer
College of Nursing
cynthiahurt@tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in 8/31/2022
Kathryn Giordano
College of Medicine
giordano@medicine.tamhsc.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in 8/31/2022
Lori Bienski
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
lbienski@tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in 8/31/2022
Joe Prather
Marketing and Communications
joeprather@tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2022
Cynthia Billington - Vice Chairperson
Mays Business School
cbillington@mays.tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Jennifer Bradford
College of Science - Admin - Dean
jbradford@bio.tamu.edu
979.845.7755
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2021
Nikki Cavender
Division of Human Resources & Organizational Effectiveness
ncavender@tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Lindsey Edrington
College of Pharmacy
ledrington@tamu.edu
361.436.0286
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Sarah Franke
College of Liberal Arts - Admin - Dean
sfranke@tamu.edu
979.862.4043
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Elizabeth Galvan
Division of Academic Affairs
egalvan@tamu.edu
979.458.2595
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2022
B B Gayton
McAllen Higher Education Center
bbgayton@tamu.edu
956.271.1314
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2021
Ashley Green
College of Education - Admin - Dean
a_green@tamu.edu
979.458.1334
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2021
Justin Harbor
TAMU - Qatar Campus
justin.harbor@qatar.tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Monica Hartman
Division of Finance and Operations
monica-d-hartman@tamu.edu
845-7378
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Marcos Mendez
Athletics
mmendez@athletics.tamu.edu
979.862.4934
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2022
Kamola Owen Milton
Division of Academic Affairs
kam.milton@tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Martha Parker
School of Public Health
marthaparker@tamu.edu
979.436.9410
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
La Tia Peavey
Division of Academic Affairs
ldpeavy@tamu.edu
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Brittany Ramsey
College of Dentistry
bramsey@tamhsc.edu
214.828.8978
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Stephanie Thompson - Member At Large
School of Law
stephanie.thompson@law.tamu.edu
817-212-4048
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Natalie Shaw
Division of Academic Affairs
nat92@tamu.edu
979.458.5326
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2023
Eric Webb
Student Life Studies
ewebb@tamu.edu
19798625624
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2022
Tamra R. Young - Member At Large
Division of Finance and Operations
tryoung@tamu.edu
979.458.4103
University Staff Council Representative
Expires in August 31, 2021
Jennifer Kuehn
Division of Academic Affairs
j--kuehn@tamu.edu
979.458.0972