Laboratory Safety Committee

Committee Profile

Purpose:
The Laboratory Safety Committee serves under the direction of the Senior Safety Oversight Committee to develop policy, guidance, and documents specific to teaching and research associated with laboratory safety. The committee makes recommendations to the Senior Safety Oversight Committee for other safety issues of concern related to the laboratory environment. The Laboratory Safety Committee is also charged with evaluating laboratory safety within teaching laboratories through a formal document review process.
Membership Selection Process:
Members are nominated by their Deans and confirmed by the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs. Terms are established for three years with members' terms staggered to ensure continuity.
Meeting Times:
Meetings are held quarterly on a date and time that is most convenient for all members.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Faculty Senate Representative
Expires in 2015
Judith Ball
Vet - Pathobiology
jball@cvm.tamu.edu
979-845-7910
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Representative
Expires in 2015
Greg Cobb
Horticultural Sciences
gregcobb@tamu.edu
979-845-6021
College of Science Representative
Expires in 2013
Kenn Harding
Chemistry
harding@chem.tamu.edu
845-5433
College of Education Representative
Expires in 2013
Steven Riechman
Health and Kinesiology
sriechman@tamu.edu
979- 862 3213
College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences Representative
Expires in 2015
Jeffrey Musser
Vet - Pathobiology
jeffrey-m-b-musser@tamu.edu
458-0527
College of Liberal Arts Representative
Expires in 2015
Shoshanna Eitan
Psychology
seitan@tamu.edu
979 845 2508
College of Engineering Represenative
Expires in 2014
Debjyoti Banerjee
Mechanical Engineering
dbanerjee@tamu.edu
979 845 4500
Council of Principal Investigators Mary Bryk
Biochemistry and Biophysics
bryk@tamu.edu
979 862 2294
Ex Officio David Breeding
College of Engineering - Admin - Dean
bree@tamu.edu
979 845 9247
Ex Officio Karin Loftin
Office of Research Compliance and Biosafety
kloftin@tamu.edu
979-458-3524
Ex Officio Christina Robertson
Environmental Health & Safety Department
ChristinaRobertson@tamu.edu
979-845-2132
Graduate and Professional Student Council Representative (Student)
Expires in 2017
Qi Wang
Graduate Student Council
wangqi2014@tamu.edu