IT Governance Program - Architecture & Infrastructure Committee

Committee Profile

Purpose:
The IT Architecture & Infrastructure Committee (AIC) provides input, recommendations, and architected solutions on IT infrastructure service types including the data and voice network, email, calendar and productivity tools, as well as IT infrastructure services provided at scale, such as networking, database, data center colocation, identity management, storage services, backup services, web applications, and hardware services.

The AIC produces the following outputs, including, but not limited to:

-Develop technical architectures or recommendations as prioritized by the SITC to ensure resource optimization and strategic alignment.

-Optimize the design, delivery, operation, and sourcing of University-wide IT service architectures and development of fulfillment strategies or plans to be analyzed by other ITG committees and the SITC.

-Conduct an annual review of the overall Texas A&M University IT Service Portfolio and provide recommendations to the SITC for adding, changing, and removing services with recommended changes in technical architectures and solutions.

-Develop recommendations and technical architectures for technologies as requested by the RITC, EAC, and TTLTC.

-Initiate recommendations for new or changed technical architectures or technologies during the normal course of committee function.

-Evaluate, develop, and maintain technical standards for University-wide application program interfaces and protocols in partnership with the EAC.

-Inform the SITC about existing or potential operational or technical issues as a result of new or existing technical architectures and escalate issues as appropriate.

-Evaluate the impact of proposed University and institutional data systems, infrastructure, and applications to existing resources with corollary recommendations for the retirement of existing services from a technical architecture perspective with related solutions.

Membership Selection Process:
Appointed by the Provost, Associate Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Vice President for Enrollment and Academic Services, Vice President for IT and CIO, Vice President and CFO, Vice President for Research, and the Vice President for Student Affairs.

Meeting Times:
Monthly on the 2nd Thursday of all calendar months. Cadence is monthly as opposed to bi-monthly due to the extended scope and rich technical solution initiation and development nature. The committee will determine modifications to the meeting schedule as needed based on current activities and may elect to cancel up to 2 meetings per year, particularly near the holiday break or mid-summer term.

Roster

Position Name Contact
Faculty Member
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
Prasad Enjeti
College of Engineering - Admin - Dean
enjeti@tamu.edu
979-862-3243
Texas A&M IT Representative
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
Susan Neitsch
Texas A&M IT
sneitsch@tamu.edu
979-862-4300
Division of Research Representative
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
Donald 'Rick' McMullen
Supercomputer Center
mcmullen@tamu.edu
979-458-8414
Associate Vice President for IT and CTO
Expires in Permanent
Cheryl Cato
Texas A&M IT
ccato@tamu.edu
979-845-9999
Academic Services IT Representative
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
David Kratz
Provost IT Office
kratz@tamu.edu
979-862-3640
IT Professional Representative
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
Alan Kurk
AgriLife Research
akurk@tamu.edu
(979) 845-9343
IT Professional Representative
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
Chad Ballenger
School of Law
cballenger@tamu.edu
(817) 212-3845
IT Professional Representative
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
Richard King
Health Science Center
richard.king@tamu.edu
979-436-0922
IT Professional Representative
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
Elizabeth Schwartz
Human Resources
eschwartz@tamu.edu
979-845-0357
IT Professional Representative
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
Erick Beck
Marketing and Communications
e-beck@tamu.edu
979-845-4681
Division of Finance and Operations Representative
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
Justin Ellison
DSA Information Technology
jellison@doit.tamu.edu
979-458-9202
Division of IT - Associate Director
Expires in Permanent
Rudy Supak (Ex Officio Member)
Texas A&M IT
rsupak@tamu.edu
979-458-9800
Division of IT - Associate Director
Expires in 2 years, July 2019
Zac Sanders (Ex Officio Member)
Texas A&M IT
zac@tamu.edu
979-856-3566